Understanding China, One Blog at a Time

An American in China

Archive for September 10th, 2010

Photo of Subway Line for Line 10 in Beijing

Posted by w_thames_the_d on September 10, 2010


This is what it is like to wait in a line in China.e

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a Comment »

China’s Cultural Revolution- A Bloodbath in China and a Humiliation Not Spoken About

Posted by w_thames_the_d on September 10, 2010


China has not been a warring nation, except within her own borders. It is said that under Mao as many as 70 million or more died. Those numbers are so large it is hard to imagine, so lets focus on a specific time period for it to become more real. If we just look at the period of the Cultural Revolution from 1966-76, we see that around 7- 10 000 000 people died. Remember that at this time China was not in a war with anyone and all of those deaths are from Chinese killing Chinese, and I must say again. there was no war nor revolution at that time. It was merely Chinese killing Chinese to prove their loyalty.
To understand the amount of humans killed during this time, it is like killing two Toronto’s, or one Moscow or one Sao Paolo, or one and one-half London’s.
If that does not get your attention, then it is like killing off the city of Tucson every year for ten years in a row! The funny thing is that the regime who was in power during that bloody period, is still in power and those in power actually cut their political teeth during that time.

Posted in Uncategorized | 6 Comments »

Crazy Haircuts in China- My Friend’s Experience

Posted by w_thames_the_d on September 10, 2010


You are all aware I’m sure,   that I am a man and recently underwent a radical change…. I got my hair cut in China and the results are interesting. I blogged it here, but suffice it to say that yes I am a man but now look like an LPGA senior pro (read as lesbian).So, I was kind of bummed out, it just doesnt seem right to be walking around with a head that now seems too small for my body.
Anyway, I was walking with my new smaller head and saw my friend. He is a 61 year old American guy working in China for a local firm. He is casual in his dress, but this day he had on a stocking cap , pulled it over his ears like a Seattle grunge rocker. To me it was odd, like he was trying to hide from someone.
I asked what was up and he snarled at me, said “hair cut”. I pointed at my pate and said, “yeah, the Chinese are a freaking trip, the way they butcher our hair”. He said, “tell me about it”,, scratched his head. I was like, “what the hairdo is bad?”
He started to take off the cap, looked around, got nervous and we kept walking. I said “what heppened man, look at me, I look like an old woman, and you seem ok. He says, you think so?”
I began to speak and he slowly pulled off the hat, I almost shit myself.
He explained.
I went in to the barber and my spoken Chinese is only fair. I told the guy to take a lot off the sides and leave a little on top, he showed me with his hands, waved them over his head.
-no shit – I said, shook my head
-yeah, and look at me..
I stopped and imagined the conversation between the barber and him
I asked why he didnt stop the guy, he said he never looked in the mirror
“Well he did take a lot off the sides, and did leave some on the top” I said

HE GAVE ME A FCKING MOHAWK!!

Posted in Cultural oddities, Let me educate you..., Product Quality, Ranting in general, Working and Living in China | Leave a Comment »

What Do You Get When you Mix China’s Voracious Appetite for Fuel and Shitty Chinese Product Quality—OOOPs

Posted by w_thames_the_d on September 10, 2010


OOOPpppppss
That is basically what the chicoms had to say about this incident in Boai Bay in China. This oil rig “Tipped Over”, that is the official line from the chicoms who said excessive winds caused the structure to tip over. Ummm, shouldnt these things be built to withstand excessive winds?
China is reeling from their own little oil spill disaster, so they need to save face and assure all the world that the valve of the platform was sealed and there is no risk of a spill,,.. right. Just like all of the toxic milk was destroyed in 2008 and then in 2009 and then in the early part of 2010…..call me skeptical.

Posted in Photos, Product Quality | Leave a Comment »

China Fact- China is Very Polluted

Posted by w_thames_the_d on September 10, 2010


China has 16 of the 20 most polluted cities in the world. My lungs can attest to the affects of this…

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a Comment »

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers