Understanding China, One Blog at a Time

An American in China

Hot Room, Cold Shower- Shanghai Ascot Hotel

Posted by w_thames_the_d on April 14, 2011


Earlier this week as I sat shivering beneath the arctic blast of water called a shower, I wondered why such a place as the Shanghai Ascot could command 130 Euros for a night’s stay. Sure the hotel has a great view of Shanghai and is in an excellent location but something should be said about providing those little bothersome nuances such as hot water.
Upon phoning the front desk I was told that I, surprisingly enough should have hot water. While being in total agreement with that point I then asked if this dream would come true.
“The engineer should be there within an hour.” the receptionist said.
Pondering the oddities of China as I wiped the sweat from my brow and gawked at the room temperature which seemed to be in the 80’s I then considered my next move.
Lacking 60 minutes to spare, I thrust my into the frigid torrent and made due.
Before coming to China I would have considered something like this unbearable, I am now acculturated into all things China. I console myself that each new ‘idiosyncrasy’ cannot be as bad nor as surprising as the last, I march on. After all, at least the Shanghai Ascot had water. Last year in the Holiday Inn in Guangzhou we lacked that nicety- water.
Last year when I awoke to an arid faucet, I called the receptionist inquiring about the lack of water in my room. Several minutes later a maid showed up with a bucket of hot water and a rag. “Here” she said smiling.
I was then told that I could use said bucket and an old rag to wash….

Yes it is true that I once was not even given a bucket but a bowel with which to wash myself, that had been in the jungles of Nicaragua where for U$ 5.00 I paid for a cot as I awaited my tour to one of her huge inland lakes. I guess I just never figured that I would run into the same problems in a ‘metropolitan’ city such as Shanghai or Guangzhou.

2 Responses to “Hot Room, Cold Shower- Shanghai Ascot Hotel”

  1. gowron said

    My dad’s german clients once nearly freezed to death in one of those Chinese rat hotels, (classy hotels on the outside), but ciggerate carpeted itchy carpeted on the inside, with all these “stains” on the walls.

  2. laoshi said

    Gowron I agree with wtdevflnt, you should also do a blog, you have some pretty good observations.

Leave a comment