Understanding China, One Blog at a Time

An American in China

Archive for January 20th, 2011

More On Those Friendly Communists Visiting the USA

Posted by w_thames_the_d on January 20, 2011


The Party: The Secret World of China’s Communist Rulers (Richard Mcgregor)
A

Aside from a few largely symbolic exceptions, every senior government minister or official is a party member. By contrast, every senior party official does not always hold down a government post. Many instead work for the key party departments, which outrank mere government ministries. The Central Organization Department is responsible for personnel appointments. The Central Propaganda Department handles news and information. The United Front Department, as its name suggests, has a brief to lock in support for the Party in power centres outside of its direct purview, like overseas Chinese business communities in Hong Kong and Taiwan, and in social organizations at home.
==========

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a Comment »

Tired 22 My Chinese Panda Rabbit

Posted by w_thames_the_d on January 20, 2011


Here is an aerial shot of 22. Actually I took this last year when it was cold as heck in China. This year, due to poor environmental planning and the coming environmental apocalypse in China, we have had no snow and the cold spell was short lived.
Back to the rabbit,
in this photo she is dozing.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a Comment »

China Pic

Posted by w_thames_the_d on January 20, 2011


This is an old photo, I think it is the forbidden City. The place is vast and pretty cool to explore. If its not the forbidden city, then its one of the many relics that dot the Chinese countryside that are filled with Chinese shoving greasy Chinese food into their gaping maws while they bump into each other each trying to cozy up to some odd looking tree or rock so they can hurry home and past it on their ren ren page- which of course is a facebook knockoff that uncle chicom has allowed to become popular as they cannot access the real Mccoy.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a Comment »

China Has Environmentalists- WTF?

Posted by w_thames_the_d on January 20, 2011


After pulling myself from my chair in uproarious laughter, I re-read the snippet below, from here. The article starts off with what has to be one of the funniest word combination’s ever recorded. It says “China’s Environmentalists”

hmmmm

that must be like

-Chinese experts

-Chinese Justice

-Chinese law

-Chinese education

-Chinese morals

I really have no idea what the article is about but can guess.Apparently some Chinese are bitching about an American company, probably so that the people from teh land of milk and honey will throw some cash their way to quiet them. To me its absurd, however that if China does have a group of environmentalists, why they would go after an American company? Lately China has had a dozen oil spills, toxic milk, tainted foodstuffs, most of the people dont have potable water to drink and this all comes from primarily Chinese companies, so whats up with them coming after us?

The reason is that for the most part we have morals and ethics and will buckle under and make amends. If they were to pull this with the chicoms they would be beaten, abused and then let go after the state apologized calling it all a big misunderstanding. The effect, however would be that any others wishing to make similar claims would have learned their lesson.

In reality these ‘environmentalists’ are probably nothing more than part time members of the communist party trying to pad their decreasing bribe intake.

excerpt:

China’s environmentalists are becoming masters at the name-and-shame tactics pioneered by western non-governmental organizations. What’s less clear is to what degree, in a country where environmental abuse is still pervasive, those named in such efforts are really shamed.

ChinaApple_DV_20110120122703.jpgReutersA coalition of Chinese environmental groups criticized Apple. Will consumers care? Here, customers lined up outside a new Apple Store in Shanghai in July 2010.
In the latest example, a coalition of environmental groups in China that are campaigning for technology companies to investigate failures to meet environmental and labor standards in their supply chains has singled Apple,

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a Comment »

The Butcher Man Cometh- Communist Party Leader Hu Jin Tao Visits America

Posted by w_thames_the_d on January 20, 2011


Hu Jin Tao, the leader of China’s communist party and president is hanging out with BO in the white house. My question is this. What title will they address him by. He is the leader of the communist party and is the president, oh yeah, he was also known as the “Butcher of Lhasa” by all of the Tib.etans for the treatment he proffered upon them during his cruel reign there. But alas we dont really care, we welcome the man with open arms. The American government can be charlatans at times, didnt we also cozy up to Saddam Hussein at one time?
I find it odd that we demonize North Korea, but will gladly partner with countries like China and practical all arab nations whose records on human rights make Guantanamo look like kindercare.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a Comment »

China’s Problems

Posted by w_thames_the_d on January 20, 2011


Here is a quote from an excellent book by Randall Peerenboom. He talks about China and law- a funny concept when used in conjunction with China . And he goes on to state that in many was China is like a federalist country or a loosely knit sub countries. This is in part why the chicom leaders cannot get the underlings to obey.

China’s Long March toward Rule of Law (Randall Peerenboom)

China’s problems in the environmental area, for example, are due in part to a weak central agency and the desire for economic growth.26

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a Comment »

Hierarchy in the Communist Party in China

Posted by w_thames_the_d on January 20, 2011


The Party: The Secret World of China’s Communist Rulers (Richard Mcgregor)

The cars provided an easy first lesson about Chinese politics, Leninism 101, if you like, as their number-plates clearly spelt out the ruling hierarchies in the city. The Shanghai party secretary’s plate is numbered 00001; the mayor and deputy party secretary’s plate is 00002, one rung below; and that of the executive vice-mayor and the next most senior member of the city’s party committee is 00003; and so on. The number-plates are a banal illustration of the most important guiding principle of Chinese politics, of the Party’s ascendancy over the state in all its forms.

==========

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a Comment »

China’s Hu, What Title is He Using in the USA

Posted by w_thames_the_d on January 20, 2011


The Party: The Secret World of China’s Communist Rulers (Richard Mcgregor)

Hu Jintao is party secretary but he also carries the more junior title of state president. Likewise, the Politburo, headed by Hu, sits above the State Council, China’s equivalent of a cabinet, which is headed by the Premier, Wen Jiabao, who is also on the Politburo. When Hu visits Washington and other western capitals, he is always billed as President, and head of state, at the insistence of the Chinese, and not as the General Secretary of the Chinese Communist Party, which is his most important position. Hu only flaunts his party title on trips overseas to the handful of surviving fraternal communist states, like Cuba, Vietnam and North Korea. To do it in places like the White House lawn would be unnecessarily embarrassing to his host. It would also lift the public profile of the Party, which Hu and other leaders have no interest in doing.
==========

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a Comment »

“If the United States Attacked China I would Surrender”- Post from a typical Chinese person on their views of China and America.

Posted by w_thames_the_d on January 20, 2011


“If the United States Attacked China I would Surrender”- Post from a typical Chinese person on their views of China and America.

This post comes directly from Chinasmack.com Below it are a few of the comments of the typical Chinese citizen.

Captain America: The First Avenger.

The following is a famous post allegedly written by someone from China’s prestigious Peking University that has circulated on the Chinese internet many times before, regularly reappearing every so often.

On Tiexue, ChinaRen, Tianya, & KDS:

Famous Beida [Beijing/Peking
University] Post: If the American military were to attack China, I would surrender to them

If the United States of America were to attack China, I would just run with my girlfriend to her home. My girlfriend’s home is in the mountains, and there is nothing of value there, but there is food and water. This way, America will never send its Tomahawk guided missiles there. Then our entire family will be guaranteed to be out of harm’s way.

As long as we’re not hit by a Tomahawk missile, there won’t be much to be afraid of. I know now from watching television that the American military is not like the Japanese military in the past. They won’t burn, kill, and rape, no Three Alls Policy. During the Korean War, why did the Chinese fight America so desperately? It was because at the time, the government had propaganda that seriously vilified America, and the people at the time all thought that if America captured China, the things they would do would be even worse than what Little Japan did. This was the misunderstanding of a Chinese people who did not understand America at the time. On the contrary, America’s military was doing its best to avoid hurting innocent people, giving food and water, saving the dying and healing the injured, better than China’s “government forces”. So what is there to be afraid of. Just sit at home and wait for America to defeat China.

For this country, it doesn’t matter who is the government. Because I have always been a docile citizen [someone who readily submits to invaders or new regimes], having been one for decades now, it is all the same who I am a docile citizen for. Besides, being a docile citizen for America or an “American puppet government” might mean my life will be a bit better. Aren’t the common people of Afghanistan doing much better than when they were under the Taliban?

If the government isn’t willing to let me go, insisting on giving me a gun and forcing me onto the battlefield, then of course I can only grit my teeth and go. However, I will definitely not go be a hero, like being a “suicide bomber” or anything. Even if they gave me 300 or 400 thousand American dollars, I would not go do it. I will just roar with the crowd. When everyone is charging forth, I will run along. When everyone is retreating, I will lead the way. I imagine when the time comes where someone like me is needed to go on the battlefield, the country will already almost be done for, and the military would collapse on the battlefield. Nor will I follow everyone into the mountains to fight a guerrilla war. I will raise my hands and surrender to the American army, and open the path for them.

There’s nothing bad about being a prisoner of war. In the prison camps, there is food, clothes, safety, and most importantly, you can survive. Stay alive and then be a docile citizen. Besides, I have a wife and kids at home, so for me, they are a hundred times more important than some country or nation.

There will definitely be many patriots cursing me as a Chinese traitor, but go ahead, I don’t care, because this country has nothing to do with me. I am just a small, lowly docile citizen, something I am certain of from the bottom of my heart. After decades, I have seen through this government, and I am no longer that 20-something young patriot I used to be.

In the past, I too did not know this. When I was a student, I too was like the anti-American people on the internet these days, a hot-blooded youth. Back then, my schoolmates and I thought of ourselves as the country’s pillar, that we should devote our lives to the country, and because of this, was so presumptuous as to make demands of our master, not expecting that the moment I said to the master: “Master, your clothes are a little dirty,” I was immediately slapped two times across the face and my mouth stuffed with stinking horse shit. From that moment on, I suddenly woke up, and realized just exactly what I actually was.

Turns out, I am just meant to be a docile citizen, and the matters of the country actually have nothing to do with me. So why should I care for something that doesn’t care for me? From that moment on, I became honest and wholeheartedly embraced being a docile citizen. I don’t care who my master is. Whoever wants to be my master, I will be their docile citizen.

However, docile citizens still have a docile citizen’s principle. The principle of docile citizens is: Only sell our dignity, but not our lives. If the master does not treat me as a person, I won’t treat myself as a person either. Human rights and the like, I have never been interested in.

But if the master tells me to give up my life for him, I will resolutely refuse. My life is my own, not something given by the master.

The master normally does not treat me as a person, only having me be totally subservient, not allowed to say what I want or do what I want. But when the day comes when the country is no longer stable, when the government is in trouble, and it wants to treat me as a person, asking me to do my duty, at that time I will apologize and say to the master: “What were you doing before? Now, I’m sorry, but old me no longer waits on you.”

Therefore, I will surrender to the American military! And open the path for them!

American soldiers.

Comments from KDS: (no longer available)

黑夜之瞳:

The last time I saw this post, the starting fare for taxis was still 10 yuan

[It is now 12 RMB, so this just means this post is old and has
circulated on the Chinese internet before.]

椒盐电风扇:

Although the writing style is humorous, reading between the lines reveals an extreme dissatisfaction with the **

赵公明:

Actually, it just says what everyone thinks in their hearts. downloading

德谟克拉西:

If the Japanese army comes, I will run. If the American army comes, I will open the path for them. If the Kuomingtang army comes, I will join them. If the Communist government comes, I will poison them.

狼狼阿狗:

I firmly believe that as long as the leadership is around, we won’t be able to be Chinese traitors.

[This means that the leaders will betray the country first.]

另壺蔥:

That he doesn’t love the party I won’t talk about, but he no longer has the most basic love for his country…human flesh search him out and kill him.

Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments »

Hu to Obama- ‘Nigga’ Please!

Posted by w_thames_the_d on January 20, 2011


Here is a snippet from the huffingtonpost.com

The photo seems to portray a smirking BO and a very very tired, prune faced Hu Jin Tao (China’s current dictator in Charge) at an awkward moment. According to the excerpt, BO was touting human rights and how it makes for one big happy family when we all just get along. BO purportedly then sparked up a fatty inhaled profusely and passed it to the confused communist leader who not wanting to appear culturally weak, also took a toke. The two men then said, fk it, lets go get some interns, and moved off to the palatial ‘lewinski room’ for some oral.

Ok, I got a little side-tracked. But I think what happened was that BO made some comment about human rights but hjt (the commie) not understanding English just kind of nodded as if to say, ‘shut up and pay your bills you barbarian’. Then again ‘Im in china, so this is all hearsay.

excerpt from the huffingtonpost.com


WASHINGTON (AP) — Touching on a key source of tension between the U.S. and China, President Barack Obama greeted Chinese President Hu Jintao Wednesday by stressing the need for nations to observe universal human rights. Hu responded with a call for both countries to respect each other’s core interests. (Scroll down for live video.)

Obama welcomed Hu to the White House with full honors and a red-carpet greeting, marking the start of daylong meetings to address trade, security and human rights issues that have been the cause of past strain between the two powers.

“History shows that societies are more harmonious, nations are more successful and the world is more just when the rights and responsibilities of all nations and all peoples are upheld including the universal rights of every human being,” Obama said in his remarks.”

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a Comment »