Understanding China, One Blog at a Time

An American in China

Color Me Unconvinced- Chinese Military and Technology

Posted by w_thames_the_d on January 5, 2011


Ok, call me naive, but I’m still unconvinced by all the claims of the advances in the Chinese military. Before venturing to the center of the universe, I thought they may have a great and powerful army, but now have reversed course.

As I sit in my Chinese made chair, one leg wobbling as I move to my pc, I think that three weeks ago, when I purchased it, maybe I should have bought the foreign brand. Then, I reflect on my Chinese branded ‘never ready’ batteries with their life span of several minutes.

Walking down to get a starbucks muffin, I fight off vertigo as I navigate the crooked hallway, the walls tilting at an odd angle. Moving to the stairs, I maintain a hand on either side as they seem to be off center, and the entire seems to be on the verge of collapse, I ponder the Chinese capacity to manufacture. The average life of a building here is 15 years or so, and buildings dont move, so how can they manufacture planes with any precision?

My question is, how does a country who cannot get the milk from the teat of a cow to the cup in a pristine state, deal with the precision machining and fabrication of huge hunks of metal that fly at speeds of mach 2? Call me ignorant, call me a gun toting American redneck, but I just seem to think that if china could do such great things with their military hardware, k they could fabricate a ball point pen that doesnt explode in your pocket.

It could be me, and Im the first to admit that I know little of their capabilities. My only point is that if the Chinese military hardware is anything like china, then feel slightly less than nervous….maybe it will be my demise when in 15 years I march , little red book held high and proclaim the glory of the party…

5 Responses to “Color Me Unconvinced- Chinese Military and Technology”

  1. Daniel Bos said

    I have but one suggestion: Stop buying the cheapest crap you can find. What do you expect if you pay next to nothing?

    • wtdevflnt said

      I have to agree, before coming here I considered that when I put my coins on the table in exchange for a thing marked ‘battery’ I was naive enough to believe the cylindrical object was in reality a battery, or a working battery, since arriving here, I have updated my belief patterns!
      I think the only way to resolve this is at a tea house in Amsterdam…..Thanks for your comments!!!!!!

  2. Richard Seeto said

    Re the Chinese military. China never made any claims of beating the Americans at their war games. If Chinese goods are as the poster calls them so bad why are you yanks so paranoid about China’s rise in military power?
    Make up your fricking mind. Are you or are you not afraid of China’s rise? You cannot have your cake and eat it at the same time.

    • wtdevflnt said

      Hmm, maybe I was unclear in my post about my feelings regarding China’s military. I think at times I beat around the bush too much and hide my feelings. Ok, let me try it this way
      “No I am totally unconvinced as to the power of the Chinese military!” Until they can prove to the present author that they can get milk from the udder of a cow to my glass without fricking it up, I will never fear their military prowess”
      Thanks for the comments anyway

  3. fibonacci said

    China’s New J-20 Stealth Fighter Jet – First “Flight” Video?

Leave a comment