Understanding China, One Blog at a Time

An American in China

Archive for December 13th, 2011

Why China is So Polluted

Posted by w_thames_the_d on December 13, 2011


Here is the reason for the horrific levels of pollution in China. Seventy percent of her power is derived from coal, one of the most horrible polluters. This plant pictured here runs almost constantly and is a bane to the alveoli of China’s residents.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a Comment »

Christmas Music in China

Posted by w_thames_the_d on December 13, 2011


The yule tide season is upon us which means in an attempt to seem human/civil, the Chinese are up to their old tricks and copying civilization. No this does not mean that they are obeying things like laws and refraining from hacking up lung loads of phlegm onto the cement, but they are playing Christmas music.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m down for a little Christmas ‘haha’ but to hear the agnostic Chinese playing music to me just seems wrong. Is it just me or doesn’t it seem that a place that has never had an indigenous belief in a higher power and whose current government raided, stormed, robbed and killed missionaries , is now ringing in the Christmas season with songs of Love, Joy and God?

I guess it is a good thing, the idea that they are trying to turn the corner from infamy and agnosticism to enlightenment, but I have my doubts. In usual Chinese fashion, what they are doing is nothing more than keeping up appearances lest they look as ignorant as they, as a country, truly are. It is their belief that the travelers to this ecological wreck will hear the gleeful words of Bing Crosby and believe that China is not so bad after all, but as for me, I’m unconvinced.

Its one thing to hear about Jack Frost nipping at your nose in the land of good and plenty , but quite another to hear those words in this place. In communist China where one must renounce all religion in order to be a member of the party, singing songs about the birth of God just seems wrong.

Perhaps my feelings can best be summed up by a saying that a good friend of mine had in situations such as this. To quote Christopher Miller, ” it is as wrong as two boys fuking….”

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a Comment »

Number of Afluent Chinese Shrinks- China Continues to Tumble

Posted by w_thames_the_d on December 13, 2011


This site reports that due to a tumble in the Chinese stock market, the number of Chinese millionaires is almost 50% less this year. I would like to say that I feel sorry for the gaggle of people who think nothing of abusing the underpaid laborers who are forced to work under the brutal conditions that define China, but I cannot.

Truth be told, I find it a wonderful act of fate that those who through abuse and bribery pad their wallets while those around them suffer, have tumbled from their lofty perches. I guess the further China sinks into a recession, the more angry the locals will become and then we may see another ’66 or ’89 like event.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a Comment »

A Penny, An Airplane and Chinese Dreams

Posted by w_thames_the_d on December 13, 2011


The other day as i journeyed on my way to the land of the lost- china, I had an interesting experience. I had come from the land of justice and peace and had a layover in some small country in the pacific. The reason for the maneuver/layover was to eschew a direct flight and limit my contact to the local chinese who flock to the Beijing to New York flights like a commuist to corruption.

In my humble travels, I have learned that the chinese posses a unique ability to defile most if not all of the things they touch or experience and international flights are not exempt. Thus, as iIsat there waiting for the humans to deplane and the Chinese to board, I readied myself for hell- aka my return to China. what I did was to stuff wads of cotton deep into the recesses of my ears to avoid the aural onslaught that that defines the locals. What I did not know, was that as I yanked objects from my dennis the menace-like pockets, a penny fell out onto the seats to my front.

As we all know, a US penny is about as worthless as a law in China or six communist leaders, so even if I had seen it, odds are I would have let it be.

In about ten minutes as the chinese boarded the plane and filled it with mangle talk and lunacy, I spied a cabbage shaped chinese vixen in front of me. This woman, whose head looked like the love child of a tonka truck and a VW bus, sported a maw full of multi colored teeth that put me in mind of Christmas. The woman, upon entering, made it clear to all that her opinion was invaluable and at decibel levels equaling that of an AC DC set, she began to tell one and all about her most recent trip.

Soon enough her blood sugar dipped and she was forced to bow her bubbly arse into her seat. Suddenly , the elder stateswoman spied the shiny penny before her and with the quickness of a panther lanced at it with ham like fists. She then hugged the treasure to her chest, which had settled comfortably around her belt in a lumpy mess. Concentrating a discerning eye on the object, she smiled with glee. ‘Surely’ she thought, ‘this is nothing less than a fallen treasure from a rich passenger. then with the skill of a coal miner she polished the trinket then held it up for her buddy to appraise.

Her buddy, who from the scent of her mouth had recently consumed a metric ton of garlic, looked at the tiny object and shrugged. The large headed owner of the trinket proceeded to explain the good fortune that had befallen her. once again brandishing the trinket and with a gulp of glee wondered aloud what it was worth.

With a jealousy only the chinese can possess her friend eyed the matron with contempt and smiled. She then offered she was unsure, but thought it looked like gold or some other precious metal.

With that bit of news tossing about her semi empty skull, the large-headed one, stuffed it into her purse while visions of Bentley’s and ocean side mansions danced before her. she obsequiously fastened her seat belt and steadied herself for the return flight, a woman full of hope.

I can just see her now running off to some chiense jeweler in search of an approasisal. where , for the paltry sum of $100, the man will inform her that far from a relic, the object is nothing more than a hunk of copper that some barbaric nation utilizes to keep score in that game we call business.

After days filled with despair, the big headed woman will forgo all things healthy as she sinks into a semi depression. then one day it will hit her. Although said trinket is only worth 1 cent on the free market, the copper inside is worth twice s much. I can see the old woman now hunched over her sink with a blow torch and a plate in an attempt to unlock the true value of said coin. she attacks it with a savagery not seen since the 60’s and will not stop till she’s done.

While unable to purchase that mansion overlooking the bay, she will no doubt be better off. for in the quid pro quo country that is China, getting something for nothing is always a thing of beauty.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a Comment »