Understanding China, One Blog at a Time

An American in China

Archive for August 13th, 2010

I Now Understand Why Chinese Think a Foreigner is a Loser If They Stay in China

Posted by w_thames_the_d on August 13, 2010


I never understood why the Chinese say that foreigners living in China are losers, but now I do. They said it was about the details, meaning the actual goings on of living in China are so unbearable when compared to the west, that no one in their right mind would want to stay in this place!
Yesterday it all fell into place, as I finally understood them. I was in an airport, which one does not matter, as they are all the same. In the airport I was exposed to the real China, the China that the Chinese see each day but we may be somewhat shielded from. What I saw was masses of people with little or no education, (and this is China’s middle class and affluent), who stood around, spitting, picking their noses and clucking like hens. The general lack of couth and manners were appalling. I saw two women fight, kids running about screeching like banshees, people pushing each other, squatting on chairs without shoes,pushing to get in lines, hacking up phlegm, dropping rubbish on the floor and this was at a resort area. In general the atmosphere was like a carnival, or like a middle east bazaar.
Thus, to a Chinaman, how any foreigner could desire to live while surrounded by all of this discomfort, dissonance and bad taste, is beyond them, and to be honest, yesterday I finally understood their sentiments.

Posted in Cultural oddities, Let me educate you... | 3 Comments »

Shanghai Shitter- Chinese Guy Shits at the Subway Stop in Shanghai

Posted by w_thames_the_d on August 13, 2010


20100808-subway-01

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a Comment »

Photos from the Subway in Shanghai- Looks More Like Hooterville than a World Class City

Posted by w_thames_the_d on August 13, 2010


Photos from the Subway in Shanghai
20100808-subway-02

20100808-subway-03

20100808-subway-04

20100808-subway-05

20100808-subway-06

20100808-subway-07

20100808-subway-08

20100808-subway-09

20100808-subway-10

20100808-subway-11

20100808-subway-12

20100808-subway-13

20100808-subway-14

20100808-subway-17

20100808-subway-18

Posted in Cultural oddities, Let me educate you..., People, Photos | Leave a Comment »

Pissed Off in China- Tackey Chinese Forceful Photography is Annoying

Posted by w_thames_the_d on August 13, 2010


I am no elitist, just a middle class American trying to get along. But one thing that I find terribly annoying in China is their incessant need to take annoying photos. Its not the photos that I dislike, but the lack of couth or class that the Chinese utilize in obtaining said photos.
For instance, I was in a resort area, and hoping to meet a better class of coolie, but apparently I was wrong, for while trying to enjoy some eggs and rice, I was constantly surrounded by Chinese women with their compulsory one child whom they like to think of as a bundle of joy, or social security system, but I like to refer to as ‘spoiled little dregs who decrease the quality of life exponentially with each step they take, or word they utter’- or maybe its just me.
But anyway, these mamasans, will push shove and do just about anytihg to get little wang (their offstpring ) into a photo. Today for instance, I was shoved from behind, moved, asked to move, and held a baby, all so that some lady with a grand total of about 5 Indian corn yellow teeth, could get a shot of her progeny with that patented ‘bowl hair cut’, so common in rural china.
I guess I shouldn’t bitch, it is there country. I just wish they could use a little more couth or awareness when interaction with foreigners….

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a Comment »