Understanding China, One Blog at a Time

An American in China

Chinese Buildings, Built to Last, But not Too Long- Poor Quality in Chinese Construction

Posted by w_thames_the_d on July 5, 2011


Vice Minister Qiu Baoxing from China has said that due to quality issues, Chinese buildings will only be able to stand for 25 to 30 years. He contrasted that to English and American structures which can stand for 132 and 74 years respectively. WTF?
I knew quality was bad in China but those numbers are unreal, let me take second to get my head around it.
Ok I got my head around it and it seems to me that this means that the average life of a building in China is equivalent to the life of“Bluey” the oldest dog on record. As a matter of fact, this means that if we consider the aging of animals as the benchmark, you could typically buy two dogs and have them live as long as a building in China.
Keeping this yardstick, this also means that you would have 6.5 of man’s best friends pass on before that American product is no good and roughly 13 pups before the English place bit the dust. Is it just me or is it crazy that an American building lasts three times as long as a Chinese one and 20% as long as one from England?
Color me in a hurry to buy my Chinese home….

Leave a comment